Following the meeting of representatives of 11 countries in West Africa and Central Africa (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Gabon, Ghana, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo) in initiative of Research and Education Networking Unit (RENU) of the Association of African Universities (AAU), it was taken to the establishment of the first Board of Directors of WACREN, composed of nine (9 ) members and presided by Professor Tiemoman KONE.


Among the short-term goals that the new Board of Directors has set, it retains
1. defining the strategic development plan of WACREN;
2. establishing new NRENs and consolidation of existing NRENs;
3. signing the agreement with the RENATER.


The workshop was held at the hotel Djoloff, Dakar, Senegal from 22 to 23 March 2011.



Composition of the Board of Directors WACREN


         President : Tiémoman KONE

         Vice President : Nii QUAYNOR

         Members :

              – Alex CORENTIN ;

              – Ibrahim AMINU ;

              – Anicet Claude ANDJOUAT ;

              – Yves EMVUDU ;

              – Ousmane Moussa TESSA ;

              – Venant PALANGA ;

              – Oumarou SIE.